Billy's Film Reviews.

A series of film reviews and opinion pieces from a film student and all round movie lover! Happy reading!

My Least and Most Anticipated Films For 2015

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 2.57.45 pmHappy New Year to you all! 

2015 is shaping up to be a wonderful and entertaining year for films. With 2 major franchises from the past returning decades later with updated sequels, there are going to be some heavily discussed blockbusters released in the next 350+ days.
Furthermore, there are new instalments of ongoing franchises as well as new pictures from highly popular directors. 

My most and least anticipated lists are based off films that have already been announced (obviously) but it must be said that the films that I’m most looking forward to also include the ones I currently have no idea about whatsoever. These are the films that will enter the scene later in the year and will generate buzz accordingly. 

So in no particular order, here is a list of my Most Anticipated Films for 2015:


Star Wars Episode VII – I’m not a very big fan of the originals and prequels, but curiosity is playing a major part for me. I understand how iconic this series is for cinema in general, so for the sake of fans who haven’t been treated to a good Star Wars film since 1983, I hope J.J Abrams can deliver. 

The Hateful 8 – Tarantino’s latest. A film that was on the cards, then off the cards and then back on the cards. With a solid cast full of returning Tarantino favourites and also Channing Tatum, this is going to be an interesting affair. I hope it’s better than “Django Unchained”, which was a film I was mildly impressed with, but not completely won over by. I have more faith in this one!

Jurassic World – The gates are open! With a lot of fan speculation as to the storyline and with CGI effects at an all-time high, I’m really excited to see how this one turns out. The trailer was pretty decent, and the mystery surrounding it all keeps me intrigued enough at this point on time.

Whiplash – I’ll be seeing this in about a week’s time and I am itching to the point of insanity. Once again, I’m seizing the opportunity whilst travelling outside of Germany to see an anticipated film well before the painfully late Deutschland release. I know it was released last year in the USA, but for some European nations, they’re getting it early 2015. I’ll be in Ireland at the time and I simply cannot wait! I don’t want to overdo it, but I’m foreseeing a contender for Top 5 of the year in this one.

Avengers: Age of Ultron – This is very close now. I thoroughly enjoyed the trailer for this and I have watched it multiple times since. I haven’t seen all of the interchangeable solo Marvel films that fit into the “Avengers” storyline, and I also wasn’t gobsmacked by “The Avengers” film at the time like many were. This sequel however looks to take a much darker route and set up some really significant plot points for films to come. I’m very, very intrigued. 

Mad Max: Fury Road – Continuing the discussion of impressive trailers, wow!
The first time I saw the trailer for “Mad Max: Fury Road”, I needed to do a double take half way through simply because the visuals were so intense and in-your-face.
I’ve heard that action will flush out a lot of dialogue, and if the story is solid enough, I’m on board. The same director of the iconic trilogy, this re-imagining of “Mad Max” will make the most of modern technology and effects, resulting in an explosive thrill-ride that will have us hooked from frame 1. At least I’m hopeful it will. 

Spectre – 007 is back and so is Sam Mendez!
The ending of “Home Alo…. I mean “Skyfall” was unsatisfying for me, but the experience overall was very, very impressive for a Bond film (particularly when compared to “Quantum of Solace”). I’m excited to see Christoph Waltz as the central antagonist as well as hopefully another solid and iconic opening introduction. It’s a great title that hints at the major organisation that rivals MI6 (I think…) which makes me interested to see what routes they take. Also Ralph Fiennes will step up as ‘M’, something I’m very excited to see!

The Walk – Robert Zebecks, Joseph Gordon Levitt and ‘Man on a Wire’. “The Walk” will hopefully be a well shot, well directed and well acted thriller that keeps audiences transfixed for the entire time! That might be asking too much, but the trailer looked great and the picture overall is showing a lot of promise. 

Sicario – Arguably my most anticipated for the entire year is the latest from Denis Villeneuve. His two previous efforts “Prisoners” and “Enemy” have impressed me no end, also “Incendies” is a marvellous picture. Roger Deakins is back for his world class cinematographic input and the cast looks very solid!
I can’t wait!


Before I list my Least Anticipated films of 2015, here are some that I’m not fussed about. My “On the Fence” or “Ehhh” Films include:

Ant-Man – Another low ranked, risky Marvel instalment that will probably be okay.

Victor Frankenstein – Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy. I know it’ll be better than “I, Frankenstein”! It’s from the same director as “Lucky Number Slevin” so it does have a lot going for it!

Terminator Genisys – I haven’t seen them all and was not impressed with the trailer. Or the spelling of ‘Genisys’ for that matter!

Kingsman: The Secret Service – Ehh. It looks entertaining and will most likely surprise me. But this action/comedy picture will probably be overshadowed by bigger and frankly better films. 

’71 – A continuation for Jack O’Connell and his solid run of form. A first time motion picture directorial effort from Yann Demange, it looks like it could be a solid war film that is also an in depth character study.

The Water Diviner – My parents saw this in Australia and didn’t seem overly impressed. But I’ll give Russell Crowe’s directed picture a go and see for myself when I can. 

The Visit – A low-budget thriller from the one and only M. Night Shyamalan!
Boy, I hope he can salvage some credibility within the industry with this. One more horrendous flop and we may never see Shyamalan again! Recapture your past, sir! Please!

Goosebumps – I know it starts Jack Black and will most likely be an atrocity, but growing up with ‘Goosebumps’, I am naturally curious to see what will be served up.

Lost River – The directorial debut from Ryan Gosling.
A film that aired at Cannes and was reportedly slammed, I for one hope that it will not be the case. I’m not sure how I’ll be able to see it as it will be a limit release, but I’m not really fussed either way. 


Now, here are the films I could not care less about that are approaching in 2015. I have no desire to see these, so much so that I refuse to right about them.

Fifty Shades of Grey

Hot Tub Time Machine 2

Spongebob: Sponge Out of Water

Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension

Ted 2

Fantastic Four

Furious 7

Cinderella


So there you have it. Happy 2015, everybody! 

2 comments on “My Least and Most Anticipated Films For 2015

  1. Noémie
    January 8, 2015

    So you really liked “Inglourious Basterds” more than “Django Unchained”? Anyway😉

    I’ve see Whiplash 2 weeks ago in France and it is very very good! I don’t know yet if it will make it in my top 10 this year but it will be a serious contestant. Really well played, really intense and I didn’t mind hearing jazz music for 2 hours, which is already a good thing!

    I’ve also seen ’71 a few months ago in Dublin and that was one of my biggest surprises of the year. It’ll also be a big contestant.

    Star Wars and Hateful 8 are definitely ones of my most expected movies. I didn’t like the 1st Avengers but the trailer completely got me into Age of Ultron! Also I’m quite intrigued by Ant-Man!

    Also I’m intrigued by Mortdecai, In the Heart of the Sea, True Story, Tomorrowland, Pan, Pixels…and come on the first Spongebob movie was awesome!!!

    • wmsteele
      January 8, 2015

      Yes. Inglourious Basterds is my favourite of Tarantino’s! I’ll defend it to the grave haha!

      I’ve already reserved an afternoon or evening to watch Whiplash and discuss it with you!
      Ah okay! Thats good to hear about ’71! I don’t really know much about it so I’m excited!

      I liked the first Spongebob but have you seen the trailer for the latest one?! It looks disgraceful!!

Leave a Reply

