Billy's Film Reviews.

A series of film reviews and opinion pieces from a film student and all round movie lover! Happy reading!

My Most Anticipated Films of 2014

2014 looks like a pretty exciting year for films, and the 6 films I personally am itching to see the most are the following:

Image

Transcendence

This looks interesting. Johnny Depp mixed with science and sci-fi elements would usually lose me, yet the sophisticated trailer and the unique look of it all really intrigues me, and i hope it’s as intelligent as the trailer suggests.

Image

Godzilla

Not being a fan of the previous Godzilla films or Godzilla in general, it seems strange that I’d be so keen for this latest attempt at creating a solid and honest Godzilla film. However Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad – My favourite television drama of all time) and Aaron Taylor-Johnson (Nowhere Boy and Kick-Ass – both fantastic films) seem strange casting choices for such a blockbuster. The trailer looked really dark and broody, whilst the scale of the monster itself seems like one that would be extraordinary in the cinemas.

Image

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

The second instalment in the Sin City series. The original Sin City was edgy, sharp, ultra-cool and heavily stylised like a comic book. I’m hoping the follow up with a brilliant cast will be on the same levels of visual effects and coolness as the original contemporary noir.

Image

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Wes Anderson’s latest looks brilliant. A stellar cast that would fill an entire page if listed fills this joyous creation that I can just tell will be absolutely wonderful! It seems to be a smart, complicated but witty film that is on from the first frame. Being a big Wes Anderson fan, I cannot wait!

Image

Intersteller

Christopher Nolan is one of my favourite directors. Films like “Memento”, “The Prestige”, “The Dark Knight” and “Inception” are very cleverly created and are often quite convoluted and mind-boggling. Interstellar doesn’t give much away in its trailer, except for the sense of something epic; also my new favourite actor Matthew McConaughey stars in it!

Image

The Hobbit: There and Back Again

To be honest, I’m not impressed with the move to make 3 fins out of one book, and I wasn’t impressed with the first “Hobbit” instalment. The Desolation of Smaug was underwhelming as well as it veered away from the book dramatically and was trying too hard to be a Lord of the Rings prequel. Smaug was the highlight from the second film and I cannot wait to firstly see more of that CGI masterclass, but secondly, to see it all wrap up in spectacular fashion.

4 comments on “My Most Anticipated Films of 2014

  1. lmalouie
    March 20, 2014

    I’m very excited for Transcendence. I’m also curious what they’ll be focusing on in the new Hobbit movie. They covered so much of the plot in the first two!

    • wmsteele
      March 20, 2014

      Yeah it will be interesting to see how they conclude it all! I still think the will be plenty of content to explore in the last instalment, even if it means they do what they did in the second and add things that aren’t in the book.
      Do you have any other up and coming films you’re excited about? Or any requests for a film I can review?

  2. lmalouie
    March 20, 2014

    I’m a Marvel fan, so Captain America and Guardians of the Galaxy are highlights for me. Also Noah, X-Men, Edge of Tomorrow, How to Train Your Dragon 2, and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. Let me know what you think!

  3. wmsteele
    March 20, 2014

    Yeah Guardians of the Galaxy looks really odd! I’m not too much of a comic book fan myself, I’ll definitely give it a go! All the others look great too! A few exciting sequels this year! I’m looking forward most to X-Men myself, appears to be very different from the others!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2014 by in Opinion Pieces and tagged , , , , , , , .
